

To: Members of the Communities

**Scrutiny Committee** 

Date: 13 January 2023

Direct Dial: 01824 712554

e-mail: democratic@denbighshire.gov.uk

#### Dear Councillor

You are invited to attend a meeting of the **COMMUNITIES SCRUTINY COMMITTEE** to be held at **10.00 am** on **THURSDAY**, **19 JANUARY 2023** in **COUNCIL CHAMBER**, **COUNTY HALL**, **RUTHIN AND BY VIDEO CONFERENCE**.

Yours sincerely

G. Williams
Monitoring Officer

#### **AGENDA**

### 1 APOLOGIES

# **2 DECLARATION OF INTERESTS** (Pages 3 - 4)

Members to declare any personal or prejudicial interests in any business identified to be considered at this meeting.

### 3 URGENT MATTERS AS AGREED BY THE CHAIR

Notice of items which, in the opinion of the Chair, should be considered at the meeting as a matter of urgency pursuant to Section 100B(4) of the Local Government Act 1972.

### **4 MINUTES** (Pages 5 - 12)

To receive the minutes of the Communities Scrutiny Committee held on 08 December 2022 (copy enclosed).

5 REVIEW OF CABINET DECISION RELATING TO THE RECOMMENDATION OF THE REGIONAL FEE SETTING GROUP (Pages 13 - 40)

To consider a report by the Scrutiny Co-ordinator (copy attached) which seeks the Committee, in accordance with the Council's Call-In Procedure Rules, to review the decision taken by Cabinet on 13<sup>th</sup> December 2022 (copy attached).

10.10 – 11.00 a.m.

## 6 MISTREATMENT OF DOGS (Pages 41 - 52)

To consider a report by the Public Protection Business Manager, examining the extent of legal and illegal dog sales within Denbighshire (copy attached).

11.00 – 11.50 a.m.

# **7 SCRUTINY WORK PROGRAMME** (Pages 53 - 72)

To consider a report by the Scrutiny Coordinator (copy enclosed) seeking a review of the committee's forward work programme and updating members on relevant issues.

11.50 – 12.05 p.m.

### 8 FEEDBACK FROM COMMITTEE REPRESENTATIVES

To receive any updates from Committee representatives on various Council Boards and Groups.

12.05 – 12.15 p.m.

### **MEMBERSHIP**

### Councillors

Councillor Huw Williams (Chair) Councillor Karen Anne Edwards (Vice-

Chair)

Michelle Blakeley-Walker Pauline Edwards James Elson Martyn Hogg Alan James Delyth Jones Merfyn Parry Cheryl Williams

### **COPIES TO:**

All Councillors for information Press and Libraries Town and Community Councils